Barbara (Anderson) Kline                                                                         

     

(Bio submitted August 2007)         

 I was born in Brazil, IN. My family moved to Bloomington, but my mother wanted to be in her home town where she, my dad and two older brothers had been born. At 6 weeks of age we moved to Northern Indiana. My dad was with Purdue University in the Agriculture Dept. When I was 8 we moved back to Bloomington where my dad had his own 1/2 a day T.V. show called "RFD-4" which was a show on agriculture. When the owner of the T.V. station moved the show to Indianapolis, Dad wanted us to stay in Southern Indiana. So, in 1958 we moved to the farm 8 miles east of Bedford that he had purchased in 1936 when he taught at Shawswick. He also had a new job where he traveled all over visiting hog farms and encouraged the production of registered hogs and growing them leaner.

Living on the farm was the reason for me being so involved in 4-H. I was a 9 year member and along with projects geared toward girls I also showed Angus cattle, sheep and registered pigs. I lived for the fair and had close relationships from 4-H. 

I started Shawswick in the 6th grade. That year it was decided that 6th grade would be in Junior High. Did I feel grown up!

I graduated in 1965 and married in the Fall. Soon afterward my husband Jim was drafted and I enrolled in the "House of James Beauty School". He was sent to Fort Hood, Texas and the next summer our daughter and I joined him. We lived there 8 months until he was sent to Viet Nam.

We had Roselyn in 1966 and Linda in 1967. We three girls lived with my parents while he was gone.

Jim got his job with Indiana Bell telephone when he got home and retired from there after 35 years.

While our 2 daughters were in grade school I was a Room Mother, 4-H leader, involved in church activities, the "Mothers March of Dimes", Young Republicans, Women's Republican Club, a social sorority, was a precinct committeeman and won an election to be Shawswick Assessor.

I had the job for 4 years and in that time Jim and I had our son Jay in 1980. Roselyn went to Purdue and graduated in 1988. Linda went 3 years to Vincennes and has been a Department Manager with Wal-Mart for 18 years. Jay hasn't found his path as yet.

Roselyn and her husband have 2 children, nine year old Seth and 6 year old Zoe. At age 50 I started a new career of substitute teaching which has enabled me to do a lot of traveling which I really enjoy. Jim doesn't, so I go with friends  or Linda.  I've been to Europe twice and to Florida every year in the Winter, California, Sedona, Arizona, South Carolina, Georgia and Mackanack Island are a few of the places I enjoy and of course "wandering Indiana."

My dad gave the family farm to my brothers and me years ago and Jim goes out every day and works on it with my brother. We have a garden that keeps us in corn and tomatoes, and this year we will have a fine crop of pumpkins. 

I'm still a football fan and along with following Purdue and the Colts I go to every BNL home game.

Jim and I attended Bedford Free Methodist Church for 38 years, but now go to Tabernacle of Praise on East 50.

My most important relationship is my relationship with Jesus Christ. To know that I am a "Child of Christ" and that He is in my life every day is my joy. People who have known me for many years and say "You're just the same." don't know the inner me. I still love to be silly and laugh and joke, but I have a serious side and I'm serious about being a Christian. 

Some of the highlights of my life were: seeing President Eisenhower at the White House, seeing Richard Nixon (Vice Pres.) in the Senate, having my picture taken with Vice President Dole when he was in Lawrence County at a Lincoln Day Dinner, seeing Nancy Reagan in Indy and going to Evansville to hear President Reagan give a speech for Rich McIntyre. Also, when dad was on the State Fair Board I got to see The Beatles, Supremes, Sonny and Sher, The Beach Boys and many other entertainers. We also saw Elvis at Assembly Hall.

In my spare time I read, make quilts, enjoy good "old movies" and listen to smooth jazz.

Back